Do Small Things in a Great Way

A motivational author by the name of Napoleon Hill once said, “If you cannot do great things, do small things in a great way.”

Being the huge dreamer I am, this is a profound quote for me. I’ll be the first to admit that when I dream and think of all the things I want to accomplish, I shoot for the stars. I automatically see the “Final Product” and put my focus there. I don’t always look at what needs to be done to get there. My grandma always said, “Chris, whenever you have your mind set on something, you never stop do you?” It’s true. I remember I would bug and bug her to no end at times. “Mama, can I go? Please? Can I go? Did you think about it yet?” It would bother me so much that it took so long to get an answer. As I got older I learned why.

Most of the time, the key to my grandmother granting my requests would actually be in my hands. She would consider a few things before deciding: “Has Chris been a good boy lately? Has he done his schoolwork? Made his bed? Are his school clothes ironed for the week? Is the trash taken out?” etc. If these things were done, 90% of the time, she would allow me to do what I asked for.

It was the small things. We tend to overlook them, especially when our mind is set on something so grand. We have to learn to appreciate the small things and excel at them. How do you treat people? How organized are you? How well do you handle your finances? Do you take care of your family? We must strive for greatness in all of these things, so that when the time finally comes for us to tackle that big idea, that dream job, or whatever it may be, we are more prepared.

Luke 16:10 says, “If you are faithful in little things, you will be faithful in large ones. But if you are dishonest in little things, you won’t be honest with greater responsibilities”. My grandma instilled this lesson in my little brother and I over and over. She would say, “If you can’t do these little things around the house, how am I to trust that you will do well and behave outside of here? Have you earned it?”

This lesson will forever ring true to me. To be successful or to accomplish that dream, it is imperative that we capitalize on the things that seem “insignificant”. In all reality, it could be argued that they are the most significant. The small things are where we start. It’s where we prepare and get groomed for the huge things God has for us. Focus on doing those little things greatly.

502

Leave a Reply

