Lord, Teach Us to Pray

One of my favorite authors on prayer, E.M. bounds, said “Faith, and hope, and patience and all the strong, beautiful, vital forces of piety are withered and dead in a prayerless life. The life of the individual believer, his personal salvation, and personal Christian graces have their being, bloom, and fruitage in prayer.”

The disciples understood the importance of this discipline of prayer. They simply asked, “Lord, teach us to pray” (Luke 11:1). I love what Jesus does next. He simply shows them. He doesn’t give a lecture or a five-point sermon. He just begins to pray.

I truly learned how to pray by praying with great men and women of God. I would watch them pray, listen to them pray, and ask them to pray for me. Some of the most powerful times of prayer were when my childhood pastor, Paul Radke, would lay his big Texas sized hands on me and pray that God would use me greatly.

Prayer works! Prayer is necessary! Prayer moves the heart of God and turns His attention towards you. Prayer is the way in which we can communicate to our creator in the most moving and intimate way.

When I was a teenager, I read two books that helped me in this spiritual discipline of prayer. Leonard Ravenhill complied all of E.M. Bounds lengthy books on prayer into one book called “A Treasury of Prayer”.  Also Dick Eastman’s book “The Hour That Changes The World” was such a practical help.

As a young minister, I adapted Eastman’s idea and that is now how I pray today. It is simple and easy to follow. I have included a graphic below for you to use in your own personal prayer time. Pray for a few minuets on each topic and move to the next.

Prayer works!  Carve out some time in your schedule and pray. Make prayer a priority in your life and in your daily routine so that you will see the benefits of living a life of prayer.

Prayer Card2

 

Leave a Reply

